My competitive flatmate is driving me mad!

K

Hey people! Need a rant. Now I'm in second year PhD and I share a flat with a girl who is doing a post-doc in a different subject. We used to get along fine but recently she's started getting really competitive over things like who's working the longest hours, who's the busiest and so on. She takes any opportunity to put me down and big herself up. Last week when I was talking about supervising our MSc students, her response was 'oh well, you're barely more than that level yourself are you really'. She keeps telling me how she has been in work since 6am, how many papers she is working on, how the conferences she goes to are 'bigger' than the conferences I go to etc and it's really doing my head in! I really love my topic and my work and feel as though I'm doing well, I just don't need her constantly trying to prove that she's bigger or better! I'm not sure if she's just insecure or trying to convince herself she's amazing but she's clearly trying to prove some sort of point and quite frankly I've had enough....but I don't know what to do! It's such a silly thing to get annoyed about but it's really grating on me!! Any ideas?

Cheers, KB

======= Date Modified 29 Mar 2010 22:15:31 =======
Hi KB, sounds awful, you have my sympathy, and livng with people like this is very difficult. Yep, I'd say she was insecure, all that constant bigging of the self up is usually a dead give away. I think the best thing to do is just stop sharing with her, and stop spending time with her as much as you can, before it send you spare. Best of luck. XXX