poor time management

hello all,

I am in my first year Phd and I just realised just how poor my time-management is! I want to read, there motivation is there, BUT I feel like the 2/3 weeks deadline given to me by my supervisors is way too short to submit written material. I am a VERY slow reader and I am nowhere near done to submit my next piece for next week. I am so frustrated. They won't like the fact that I cannot stick to deadlines, but I simply cannot read a reasonable amount within their timescale.

Am I being too slow though? How much should I be expected to be able to read in a day? Is 3 journal articles a day too little?

Thanks.

M

how many hours do you work a day? generally everyone agrees that you should try to treat it as a job so work 9-5. I would say if you are working 8 hours a day either you are reading very big journals or are an extremely slow reader. I would suggest also you look at your reading technique. As when reading for academia you don't have to read like you are reading a book for enjoyment. By which I mean you can skim read were you look for bits that could be relevant and use them as quotes etc. Sometimes I will read words of every other line, and if something interesting catches my eye, I will then read closely.

R

Use mendeley, it is very helpful for keyword searching.
http://www.mendeley.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLtk6n8cFdk

Moreover, you need to do something like mentioned in this article
http://blizzard.cs.uwaterloo.ca/keshav/home/Papers/data/07/paper-reading.pdf

T