Selecting journals for future publications

S

Hi everyone,
I am a post-doc and I am trying to select a few journals where I could/would need to publish. The main reason why I am struggling to choose is that my research expertise is cross-disciplinary. I have to decide where I would like to situate myself as a scholar and this is difficult for me to do. I feel this is a very important decision and I am not aware of all the dynamics involved in it. I studied and worked in different departments, which were very different but all related to my research projects. Is there any tool that could help me select relevant journals for me to consider and whether they would be suitable to disseminate my work relatively widely? How can I approach this considering my interdisciplinary background and contributions?
Thank you very much for taking the time to read my post and offer some suggestions.

N

The first thing I would do it look at where you PI and other colleagues are publishing, that will be a great start. The read the aims and scope of those journals, will they work? Secondly, what journal are you getting your information from or a reading form a lot, also a great place to start. If there is a project proposal, that might have mentioned some. I would also look at people in your field, who attend the same conferences etc. where are they publish or have published.
It can be hard to choose a place, and not every journal will suit every article, but if you don't submit it you'll never know. I usually make a list of 3-5 journal per article and ranked them in other of my preferences, from there I then ask the co-authors their thoughts, once we have an order and the articles ready we submit and hope it gets accepted, if not we then have a list of backups to go with. Some journals are also quite good at the given suggestion in their publishing house if it doesn't suit there's.