(straight) women taking higher degrees and dating

Hi all,

I have been doing some online dating lately and have made some remarkable abservations.

I am registered on two sites. On one I say I am a PhD student and lecturer (the honest approach) and on another I don't (being creative with the truth).

I get about 300% plus more responses to the non-PhD profile page than I do to the other one. It's a very dramatic difference and I find it quite disheartening.

Why do you think men dis-like qualified women so much, and isn't it sad that we have to lie about this?

K

Hey Eska!

I actually found my fiance on an online dating site that my friend signed me up to as a joke! My fiance was the third person I dated from the dating site. On my profile I put down that I was a researcher, and left out the PhD bit, although I 'came clean' with the people I actually met up with. To be honest, I'm not sure whether it's the 'female and doing PhD' bit or just the 'doing PhD' bit in general! Let's face it- especially for people who don't know a lot about the uni system there is a general stereotype that all PhD students are geeks. I totally love Big Bang Theory, but it doesn't really help our image! One of my dates didn't know what a PhD was but the other worked at the same uni as a member of staff, although he had not done a PhD himself. With the guy at the same uni, and with my fiance actually, there were a lot of the 'well, I could have done a PhD if I wanted to' sort of comments. Maybe they could have done, but it is interesting that they felt the need to make that clear to me!