2.1, 2.1, first???? confused!!!!

E

I am really sorry if this post seems silly, but I would like to have the grades cleared in my head. I have a fist degree (BA) with a 75% from a Greek university. Which scale does it belong in? Thank you very much!

S

I think (although I'm not 100% sure, so someone please correct me if I'm wrong!) that 75% would count as a first here. I think you need over 70% to get a first.

P

squiggles is right - 70% and above is rated as a first. However, that scale applies to degrees awarded by UK universities so you should check how things compare with the Greek system.

E

Thank you very much!!!!

J

I don't think it would necessarily be accurate to transfer a percentile mark over from a marking system overseas because the course may not reflect the same work - may be harder or easier to get the 75%. The English academic system is known for being much harder than many overseas unis. I would stick to saying what you got in Greek terms. If 75% is excellent then fine, go ahead and say you got a first, but some places 75% is like a C grade... I know because we have a very international department at my uni...

Just to be a pain... x

R

"The English academic system is known for being much harder than many overseas unis"

That's one hell of a generalisation. Id like to see the evidence for that!!

J

I've sometimes wondered how the UK compares with other countries. We have a lot of American students who tell us that in the US, an exam passmark is 70% - and that's considered a poor result. I think at most UK universities the passmark is 40%.

Hence lots of Americans coming here to get "easy" (in their opinion) pass grades.

N

I've found it much easier in the UK then in France

I finished my undergrad degree with a 14/20, which, although it is not the best one can do, is a h*** of a good result. What made it harder was not to be able to choose any modules, and having many more of them to take per term.