3rd year PhD student - get me out of here!

T

Hi -

I am just curious as to what is the earliest people can finish their PhD and how people have done this? I am aware some phds the earliest is 3 years - anyone managed this?

the reason I ask is that I am in my third year now (the third month of it) and totally fed up! My phd was fab to begin with, I was so motivated and excited...but my group has dwindled down to just three people (one who is leaving in two months). My supervisor isn't often about - and STILL hasnt marked my first year report for upgrade. I am finding my days to be lonely - when I hit a problem with data there isn't anyone here to turn to as the experienced people have all gone. So I am going around in circles, losing motivation and wasting time. I have learned that I don't want to work in Academia and I am itching to complete my PhD get a job and move on with my life! I just want to get my thesis written up as soon as possible.

I am organising a meeting with my supervisor to put my foot down and ask for regular meetings with him so that I can set goals and get on track with writing up - but I also want to be brutally honest with him and say I aim to be out of here as soon as physically possible.

Any tips from people who have finished PhDs in the 3 year time scale?!

Thanks in advance

L
x

B

I was actually a part-time student, doing about 5-10 hours study a week, and finished inside 6 years. So not 3 years, but very very fast compared to a lot of full-timers working far more hours.

My best tip to people is to make the use of the first year (or 2 years for part-time students). So often people drift during that time, and valuable time is lost. In my first go at a PhD, full-time science student, I drifted in my first year, reading lots of papers, slowly producing a literature review. So then when I fell seriously ill at the end of that year I'd made little progrress.