8-10 years of being poor college student

J

======= Date Modified 13 38 2010 07:38:32 =======
Hi all:

I am a second year Phd student-now working fulltime to pay for my phd.

I was a graduate assistant while studied for my Master. The college stipend (9 USD per hours/20 hours per week) did not enough to pay for my housing and food. I had to work two jobs to pay for living expenses. I lived in Washington DC-quite expensive city.

I don't have any student loans or debts, but always in a tight budget. I could not afford travelling or doing fun stuff with my peers.

I am expected to graduate around age of 28. I will have no savings. I always compare myself to my friends-they are working/saving for family/having fun with their boyfriends. However, I cannot afford to do anything. I want to have family and children in the future. However, I cannot see that road yet.

I enjoy enrolling in the Phd, but just stress finacially. Do you have the same problems? Any words of encouragement ^_^

Sorry English is my second language.

S

I think that this road is always going to be majorly tough financially - I'm in a different situation to you in that I didn't start uni til I was 34 - by that time I had a family (3 kids) but never got to do the fun stuff - I worked, then I married, had children, always had major financial issues, never had two pennies to rub together even though we both worked - the kids and mortgage took care of that.... I'll be 41 this year, I HAVE to submit by 43, I'll still have 3 kids, a house, etc etc lol and STILL no money :-)
what I'd say to you is that this will be behind you so much younger that you'll have time for all that later on - I've spent so much of my life wishing it away and now I find myself this age ;-) Enjoy your time, when the time is right then you'll get what you want, you're young enough for it not to be too late :-)