A change of direction

G

Same story as many: graduated last year with a 2.1. in history from a good university. Most of those I graduated with leapt straight into masters courses (further history) hoping to wait out graduate unemployment. I am currently working as an ESL teacher in China - it's hardly a graduate job but it beats going full time on my student jobs (mcdonald's ect.).

When I get back I am hoping to study a masters course but was thinking of doing business/accounts/finance. I've checked with some universities and such courses are open to people with degrees in history. Will covering two disciplines with a bachelors and a masters make much difference to employment prospects? Or will it not be worth the debt.

Also, is there a way to market Tefl on the CV, it's good for communication/working with others ect. and beats rotting, unemployed, on a sofa for two months (low point of my life).

D

It's difficult to answer as it will depend on a number of things, for example;

1. Individual employers perception

2. If and when the economy picks up (availability of employment)

3. Would you be prepared to move across the country for a position?

Check the graduate destination of those with this degree with your university and a few others before starting.

Could I ask you a question? I don't speak a foreign language but am interested in Tefl and so how did you get this position? I'm in the same position as you were and agree hanging around doing nothing much is a waste and if I were an employer I'd be impressed with your get up and go!

G

Ah, some good advice, I will take into consideration. In response to the third point, yes, I would certainly be prepared to move.