about to start and getting scared

G

Hi all,
I'm a mature age Psych student, who just graduated with a good Honours degree, and is about to start a Phd

I had been planning to take six months off study, and really think about the area that I wanted to pursue. However, a few weeks ago I found a interesting ad, looking for a Phd scholarship student. I applied, without too many expectations,

Anyway, long story short, I got the job. And my funding has just come through, so I will be fully funded for the next three years. That's great, and has been what I've been shooting for all along (since I went back to study three years ago)

My concern is that this is really an area of Psychology i know nothing about. That's fine, because I dont start still March, so I have a few month to do background reading.
My other concern is that, starting to look into this area, is that there is already a lot of research which has been done in the field. Specifcally, there are a couple of other labs which are specifically working on the topics which my supervisor suggested. I am worried that I am not going to be able to find an original research topic. And that I wont find that out until I come to grips with the topic, which will be too late to pull out without affecting my chances of getting funding for any other Phd.

So I guess I'm looking for advice/reassurance, from anyone else who has been in a similar situation - ie. starting postgrad research in an unfamiliar area. Also, if I do decide the topic is not for me, what is the timeline for dropping out of a Phd without it going on my record. Specifically, I'm Australian,and have got an APA which starts in March.

Honestly, I am interested in this area, and so excited about the opportunity. I just want to make sure I have a decent shot at getting my Phd at the end of it

Thanks

(robin)

L

Hi Geekgirl,