Academic Reference help

L

Hello everyone, first post here...

I need advice on obtaining academic references for my MA applications. At undergraduate level we barely knew our personal tutors, they weren't really part of our course, so in applying for a Masters I've had to ask individual module tutors who actually know me, for a reference.
The problem is I'm applying for a few courses, and I'm a bit worried about potentially bombarding these tutors for reference requests. Is this all part of life for a university tutor, or does anyone know if I'm supposed to get a more generic reference from the School of English (where I studied).
Also is it common to apply to a load of different universities for Master's degrees, like when applying for undergraduate courses?

Thanks in advance :)

B