Advice about a supervisor

S

Hi,I've been talking to a potential supervisor about the possibilities I have to be part of his lab for my PhD studies in molecular biology. In fact,he's the one who has been behind me trying to recruit me, including e-mails and phone calls trying to convince me.He is a recognized member of the faculty,his lab has funding, publishes every year, young, energetic, great lecturer, good network.There are spaces available right now for students. He has been very flexible with me about the working hours(but I really have doubts about this,I'm kind of afraid this is not going to be true at the end).Here are the concerns: Field is unknown to me and he knows I have no experience,I'm 30 years old already,I've been doing some research about him and there are not so good recommendations:neurotic,extremely exigent,controller, micro-manager(people in his lab say they would love if he's not there so often),not so friendly guy.His family is abandoned because of work (he told me this up front)and his insistence to recruit me is kind of weird to me.When is time to choose a supervisor, is it worthy to avoid social skills and temperament of the possible supervisor for a good thesis?

K

That description sounds like a lot of professors if you ask me! As long as he has experience of succesfully getting students through their PhDs and you like and are passionate about the topic and doing a PhD I would still go for it. Also, a supervisor that is around a bit too much is a lot better than a very absent one!

C