Advice for project management

H

I am PhD student in CS and I have a budget to employee a student assistant, but I'm not sure how I can manage them.

Unfortunately, my supervisor moved to another university. I'm still working with him, however, now I have no any another members in the research group here. The problem is that I have no idea what I can give a Student assistant as work. As I worked as a student assistant, usually I had my own research theme and took a part of research in the group. But there is no chance to enter new students to my research because I'm not a professor and I can't give a research theme as their graduation projects. Then I have no idea for what kinds of work that I can give them who can work for 40 hours/month. I think it's better to employee a student assistant if I have a budget though.

Well, I need to write some documents in the local language, so I think I can give it to a student assistant as work. But it's only one or two times for a year. Is there any tips to manage students who only can 40 hours/month?

Thank you very much in advance.

A

You're in a rare and fortunate but also challenging position, if you've not managed people before.

It is, in general, always better to spend budget in academia if you have it, otherwise it usually gets taken away.

One tip is to talk to the individual (or potential candidates), and try to identify their own long-term goals. If they want to do their own PhD, experience helping you analyse data or literature is something that they'll be more keen to do. If they want to go into industry, helping with programming aspects might be more useful to them. What's relevant will depend where you're up to in the PhD, but any boilerplate coding or statistical analysis etc. is fair game.