advice from biological science phds please

L

Hi,
Longtime lurker of this forum. I have gained a lot of comfort from the posts by jojo, lara and anthropologa on their write ups and everyone else's phd woes as I've only been doing an MSc and it gave me some perspective.

I need some advice on getting a laboratory job. I did a MSc in neuroscience part-time and due to work commitments I couldn't do a lab based project. I find myself yet again in the position of not having any practical laboratory skills, I do have some positives in that I have a 2.1 in biochemistry, a distinction in my masters and my advisor wants us to write a paper on the work I did.

All the jobs I have been looking at want the applicants to have experience in molecular biology and genetic techniques. In your experience will I even be looked at without relevant laboratory experience? would a good MSc and reference even count in this situation?

I desperately don't want to go back to the monotony of what I was doing before, doing this MSc was an attempt at getting back into research and I really don't want to fall off again.

Thanks in advance and wishing you all the best in your PhDs.

J

Hi Lab_Rat,

I think you probably will find it quite difficult to get onto a lab based PhD without previous research experience as your previous experiences often form a substantial part of the interview. Have you considered enquiring about the possibility of doing an MRes in a group you are interested in with working with? Occasionally these can be funded and it will be a good chance for you to get some experience in a lab environment. They normally last for one year full time and you do not normally have to complete a taught component.