Advice needed - wanting to do a PhD in 2010!

L

Hello everyone, first time poster here!
I'm currently an undergrad studying Cell Biology, and I've just finished the second year. I've been considering doing a Phd for the last year, hopefully a project around genetics, cell physiology and development but I'm fairly flexible, and I've had a look at some of the projects that have been posted on this website, so I'm fairly confident that there's something out there to suit me!

What I'd like to know is the best way to go about applying, what the process entails and any tips to boost my CV over the next year! The majority of my coursework has been high 70s low 80s but I don't know how much my exams this year have affected the overall mark!

Looking forward to any advice you can give me!

R

If you graduate with a 2.1 with good course work grades that will stand you in good stead. I would go so far as to say that good course work grades are more important than exam grades when applying for a phd position although transcripts usually ownly show overall course grades.

achieving high grades in your course work demonstrates your capacity for problem solving, critical analysis, independant learning, creativity, written and orla communication.... and I would certainly put forward these points in your CV with examples to illustrate as they are skill very relevant to research.

If you think your exams may pull your average down to a 2.2 then consider applying for a relevant Msc course so that should you get a 2.2 the Msc will effectively bring you up to a 2.1 and you will be in a good position to apply for PhDs.

If you can get yourself on some kind of undergraduate research internship over the summer that would help your chances no end as well

good luck

L