Almost there, but...

B

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here so not sure if this kind of thing has been posted before. I'm due to submit my thesis in September (because of the university's "4 year rule"). That is ok (I think), as I've nearly written 2 of 3 results chapters, plus my Materials and Methods chapter. I wrote a literature review in first year so that just needs updated and expanded slightly. My problem is that 5 years ago I was diagnosed with a serious mental illness. It hasn't really bothered me or affected my progress up until now. However, last week I felt so down and depressed about my PhD that I seriously considered taking my life. It totally freaked me out and made me reconsider whether the PhD is really for me. I'm still collecting results for my final results chapter, and I think the stress of writing and experimenting at the same time just totally got to me. I think if this is how I react now, what would I be like at the viva? So I'm thinking of submitting what I have now and getting a Masters. Is there anyone out there who's been in a similar situation? I realise the final decision on what I do is mine, but any advice from fellow PhD'ers would be much appreciated.

B

I should add that I'm on a 4-year PhD programme and this is my 2nd attempt at a PhD. I left the last one when I was diagnosed with the illness.

H

I'm sorry to hear about your situation and the stress it is putting you under.

I would suggest that you don't make any hasty decisions regarding not completing your PhD. When was the last time you had some time off? It might be a good idea to take a week or two off, do something relaxing, and then give some thought to the issues.