Am I eligible for a PhD in Anthropology?

S

Hello Everybody,

Glad to see an informative forum, where I can ask questions. I might look very confused and naive here, but I am sure your guidance will help me in taking a suitable decision.

I am bit confused about pursuing my PhD in Cultural Anthropology. The reason is, that I am a Software Engineer and then I did MS in Public Administration. During my MS I studied a subject "Cultural Anthropology", and I straightaway got very interested in the course and after that I started studying other areas of Anthropology. About my career, I have been working with the United Nations for five years in areas of Digital Media & Communication for Development. In my career of 8 years in social development sector, I have also worked on different projects with European Union, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and World Economic Forum. The reason why I am telling you all this is that although my career has been very rewarding but at the same time not focused and in one direction.

This time, I want to enroll myself in a PHD programme in Cultural Anthropology. This is not somehow related to my career, but I am just very keen and interested in this area to study and have in-depth research. Now there are few questions that I would like to ask here:

1) Am I really eligible for PhD in Cultural Anthropology, even if I have taken many U-turns in my previous education?

2) Would it be stupid to consider this subject area, when it is not going to benefit by career, but I am equally passionate about this subject area.

3) Should I just go ahead with the preparation of research proposal and start applying to different universities or I need to do some more consultation?

4) Should I be working on creating a link between the Cultural Anthropology and Technology for my research proposal to make it more relevant and beneficial for my future career?

I look forward to knowing your guidance in this crucial matter.

Regards,
Abid

T