analysis of results

J

I'm about to start analysing some of my results. I don't think I will need to use something like SPSS as I can use graphs and charts to show what I need to show, and the material I am using for comparison used only graphs and charts. Do examiners expect statistical analysis? There seems little point in doing it just for the sake of it - and part of me thinks that the more reader-friendly the final document is, the more it might get read, which is one of my goals, not much point in it being stuck on a shelf. So anyone just using basic maths techniques???

S

This is not my area of study, but I think this is something your supervisor should be advising you about. They'll know the field and the level of analysis required. And am not sure that reader-friendly is a criteria that examiners care about! Reading the articles that my potential examiners have written, dense almost seems to be better! ;-)

B

I'm just using basic maths but then I'm a humanities student! Seriously though I agree with Sue2604 that this is something your supervisor would be the best person to advise you on. Especially because they're going to be involved with picking examiners, and should know what sort of things any examiners would be looking out for.

M

======= Date Modified 20 Jul 2009 06:44:21 =======
Hi Joyce,

I agree with the others. Also, what statistical techniques have people used in similar analyses? - this will also help you. If you are not trained in statistics and a program such as SPSS, you should seriously consider if you should do complex statistical analysis.