And the award for the thickest PhD student ever goes to....

J

Me!!!

I spent all afternoon doing an experiment, than at about 6.15 I was on the last step which involved adding something to my cells. I picked up the wrong bottle and added the wrong thing so I wasted a whole day and killed my cells!

ARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

How thick is that? Anyone else made any mistakes like that before? Confess and make me feel less thick! Ican't be the only one? Can I?

A

Easily done. I added the wrong solvent to the sample I was extracting not long ago and had to throw it away. Luckily it was a quality control sample i.e. my blood (plenty more where that came from!) rather than a precious patient sample! It made me concentrate harder on the next batch of samples though. Don't let it worry you, it happens to everyone at some stage.

H

Ermmm, I can think of one but it wasn't me. When I used to work as a lab chemist, my supervisor there told me about the time during his PhD where he had made his final compound (that was like 50 million steps) and he had it evaporating on HIS rotary evaporator. Some numpty in his research group decided she wanted to use his equipment and decided there was nothing in his flask and washed it away.......

So Jen, I can honestly say that you are not thick.

A

Corrupting other people's work is far, far worse. One of my colleagues accidently bowled over a load of conical flasks containing my carefully prepared calibration standards - with a PEAR!! [Yes, we do have a no food in lab rule but she popped in en route to the tea room and somehow lost her grasp on it!]

W

I managed to blow a power supply on an incredibly expensive piece of equipment. But I like to think it was time for it to die as opposed to I caused it.

V