Annoyed. Need advice : (

T

Ok, so I'm working with this other researcher on a paper where we agreed that the person will be the first author and I'll be the second.

In my view, a second author has a lesser contribution than the first author but I don't really mind since the paper itself is not within my field. Also, since I'm a secondary author, the paper doesn't have much value to me (professionally compared to a first authored paper).

However, this person seems to want me to do more work than them. I've done the draft of the paper, the setups for the experiments, extract information from other papers, editing and now I've to do some of the analysis, as well as some discussions so that I can pave the way for the person to do the work.

The person said they are busy with other works and they are married, and I'm single, implying that I've more time. The last part made me so annoyed. Come one... throw that in my face? So... I'm single I've to do more work and I wouldn't even be recognized as the main contributor?

Am I in the right to be annoyed here? : (

M

The first author should be the person who contributed most to the research, including drafting of the manuscript. The sequence of authors should be determined by the relative contributions to the manuscript.

The attempt by “senior researchers” to force their way onto the publications of junior investigators in the absence of appropriate intellectual contribution, is sometimes known as the “White Bull effect”; in a sense, such behavior is a form of fraud and scientific misconduct.

My supervisor has difficulty understanding my paper, but recently she requests to be the corresponding author… sigh…but this is still acceptable as a supervisor.

Lastly, single should need even more time to look for true love in today’s world, right?

M