Another Viva

S

Hello,

This is my first post - I've been lurking for a while and I'm just grateful that I found you all ,-)

Anyway, to cut a very long short, I am in the re-submit phase of my PhD. I'm in year 10 because I am part-time student but full-time lecturer. I am a mathematician by first degree but am now working in economics. Due to poor supervision (Director of Studies with no PhD, second supervisor who claimed to know what he was doing and didn't, third supervisor who'd like me to fail, no supervisory meetings ever, supervisors not understanding that maths and economics are very different subjects, blah blah blah, you get the picture) I got major revisions and a re-viva.

My question is have any of you had a re-viva? I'm not entirely sure what it's for - the examiners (I had two externals because I'm a member of staff) told me that I didn't need to do any more research but needed to beef up the thesis (i.e. explain EVERYTHING in detail). I presume the re-viva is because they weren't convinced I knew what I was doing but I'd like to know. Has anyone been through one? Did you survive? ,-)

Sarah :-)

A

Good luck with it! I'm sure it'll be better the second time around. Are there any stats on how common this is (just because I enjoy fuelling my 3am cold-sweat doom fantasies).

P

Sarah,
Usually when u give ur Viva, the externals give a written feed back form. Did u get urs?? If yes then it would be really easy to just follow what mistakes they have pointed and correct them.....Other than that I dont know anything else regarding this
......I am sure u will survive!!!! and come out with flying colors.
Gud luck!!!

S

Thanks for the good luck wishes.