Any Advice for this Lost Soul?!

I

I passed my viva with minor corrections a few months ago and currently I'm applying for postdocs and research jobs in NGOs/companies. I'm currently in Canada as I got a part-time teaching job last November which lasted until July of this year, and am currently applying for jobs both in Canada and the UK. The one thing I seem to have underestimated is how competitive getting a job has become: my PhD is in Economics from Oxbridge, I have 4 years research and teaching experience, speak four languages fluently, and am good at both quant and qualitative methods (used both for my thesis).
Nonetheless, now I feel so worthless: I have submitted applications for JRFs but even my supervisor warned me they are fiercely competitive, applied for vacancies at two Canadian ministries, and am going to apply for another postdoc back in the UK. Was it a mistake to do the PhD? It's just so depressing to see ppl who don't even have a Bachelors working and getting married, etc...whilst I'm not getting any younger and still can't find one job in either country. Is anyone going thru a similar situation? Would appreciate any comments as I'm new to this experience.

D

I think you should aim to find something to tide you over, get some work cup and look for the dream job. Maybe teaching, the foreign office/gov jobs, or a charity.

Good luck. You will get there.

H

Was it a mistake to do the PhD? It's just so depressing to see ppl who don't even have a Bachelors working and getting married, etc.

Is there any point dwelling on this question? You've done a PhD and the important thing is how you use that to move on to the next adventure/challenge in life. If that doesn't turn out to be a postdoc, it doesn't meet the PhD was a waste of time.