Any PhD Moms out there?

C

Would be interested to hear your experiences in juggling home and student life! My life is a constant battle between doing what needs to be done domestically and sitting down and getting on with my work. Sometimes think and off site office would do me a world of good!

S

There are quite a few of us about. I work mainly from home but the downside of that is the isolation and lack of adult interaction. Also, when otherwise I might have taken a tea break and had a chat, at home, my 'break' is doing the dishes, laundry etc. How old is your child/children? My daughter is 3 and I'm hoping to submit in March.

C

My daughter is 11...but we live in Germany (I am studying in the UK, though) and she gets out of school at 1pm. So while I have the morning, there are always other things that get in the way (dr appointments, etc). She needs a lot of homework help because she´s going to a German school and her mother tongue is English. I´m due to submit in March as well, but that´s just not going to happen. We moved to Germany 6 months after I started, and moving tasks and settling in took a good part of the first year. Then my husband retired at the same time as well and so he´s always wanting to do something....sometimes I just have to say "GO AWAY!!!!!!!!!" which makes everyone really happy around here!

S

Is there any chance you could get some afterschool care? I know that's difficult with an 11 year-old. If your husband has just retired - couldn't he look after her after school for a while? My husband looks after my daughter on Saturdays while I workl. My daughter has a childminder 3 full days/week. I would find mornings only after the school run a pretty short time to get much done.

I was hoping to submit by Xmas but that is impossible. We moved house this year too - it does generate a lot of time-consuming tasks.

C

Quote From Smilodon: