Any PhD Students with Asperger Syndrom?

S

Hi

I am trying to find out if there are any PhD students who are AS, 8-)

I am an AS and i am doing a PhD. In fact Asperger Syndrom have never been a problem untill i started doing my PhD ! it stoped me from thinking in the big picture sort of way,

If you are out there, please share your experince.

S

can you elaborate on what AS is for the like of me who are not familiar with the term

J

Smrh: it's Aspergers syndrome: a mild form of autism (I think? I may be wrong).

Sue, I know a couple, but I don't think they subscribe to this forum! My ex-boss was an AS and he did pretty well on the scientific stuff but had trouble dealing with people like laywers/accountants etc. Mind you I think we all do...

S

======= Date Modified 08 Sep 2008 16:08:29 =======

what is AS:

Simply put, Asperger Syndrome means that the person have some traits of autism, so AS people are not totally off yet they experience difficulty with communication and social settings and organisation problems.  The difficulties differ from one AS person to another. It is said that AS people's brain is different and they process information differently.

Actually AS is thought of as the genius gene because people with AS have extraordinary abilities specially in focusing on specific subjects and in minding details, Albert Einstein and Socrates among other famous people are thought to have been AS.

The main difficulty which we, AS people, face is with trying to 'fit in'  because we are expected to think and process information like the normal people

AS and doing a PhD

Students with AS may be easily distracted by focussing on irrelevant information and detail. This may lead to key concepts being overlooked.

also thinking in the 'big picture' sort of way is difficult to AS students.