Any suggestions on writing up in my final year, please?

M

Dear all

Recently I have posted about how my supervisor said I should quit and aim only at Mphil. I'd like to thank everyone giving me kind advice on the thread, thanks! I have done what you guys suggested: I said to my supervisor that quitting is not my option and if at the end of the day Mphil is all I'm gonna get then so be it, but right now I wanna do all that I can.

However, things will not be easy, as I'm in my final year and still barely have anything done. Due to multiple topic and supervisor changing in my early years, plus my inexperience and underestimation of PhD, right now my furthest progress is to almost have finished the *first* draft of my lit review and *second* draft of methodology. I've also finished my data collection and transcribing. The end of my course is May 2015, so you might get it now why I'm so stressed about it.

I wonder if any of you could suggest how I should plan out my timeline from this month onwards. I am fully aware that I don't have that much time and that a lot need to be done on my work. Right now I'm planning of sending a chapter to my supervisors every month or so (maybe two for the analysis chapter). Is that realistic? If possible I'd like to have my first draft of thesis before xmas (major correction expected), saving some time for proofreading and revising. My ex-sup. from my master's told me that within this time scale, my plan is still doable. I just have to be very disciplined and stick to the plan.

My friend suggested that I can also start with writing up the findings and analysis first, leaving lit review and method. chapter for later. Do you think that's a good idea too?

Really, any advice will be highly appreciated. It's been so long since I last had a dream that's not related to my PhD. It would be nice to hear what others have to share. Thank you so much in advance!

A

Hi MrsButterby