Anyone in the last 6 months?

N

Hi, I'm kind of new to here (read a lot but haven't posted much) and I've found it really helpful and comforting to know that there are a lot of people in the same boat. I am currently in my 3rd year and *supposed* to be writing up (submit Aug). However I'm floundering slightly. I have 3 papers that I am currently working on, one of which recently got rejected from its first submission. I'm not too bothered about this as it was a very good journal and I just submitted it in an aim-for-the-sky kind of way. But now I have a three papers to work on, two of which require a lot of work and the third needs revisiting, and no thesis writing on the horizon.

What are other people like in terms of thesis writing? I am under the, perhaps false, assumption that I could write it fairly quickly once I start. Also we are really encouraged to have something published by the time we go in for viva, so I'm concentrating on the papers. Is this a bad idea? Does the thesis actually take a lot longer than expected (I mean I know it takes longer but does it take a lot lot lot longer)?

My supervisor is not helping things, and is being a bit of a....well his supervising style is getting old fast. He also overcritical of my writing style, saying that it is too wordy and not scientific enough. He also constantly changes his mind about what I should focus on, and often doesn't provide any helpful comments as to how I can make anything better. I know that sometimes I use 10 words when I could use 3 (I like President Bartlet's style) but I wrote a lot in my undergrad degree and I think my supervisor is trying to stamp out my individual style to make me a science robot. Although my subject is science based, it is a life science and there is room for individualism.