Anyone NOT using any referencing software whatsoever??

Z

...and just typing the reference into a Word document when they've cited something? Ive been doing this for 18 months, and i know i should start using Endnote (i have the software), but laziness is stopping me from typing it all in there.
Is it really worth it, now I've got halfway through my PhD without it?? Is anyone else doing it old skool?

A

I didn't use any reference managing software for my masters - and regretted it deeply;(but-if you have all your references in Word, you could easily export them to Endnote format.

S

I wrote my dissertation last year without EndNote, I'm writing my Lit Rev this year with it. It's an absolute god send because it manages the citations, formats the bibliography and automatically updates the house style according to whatever journal you are writing (or your uni stipulates). It also manages your reading list for you.

I've started the process of updating my dissertation into from last year into EndNote ahead of me writing a paper on it. I've found at least a dozen citation and referencing errors so far and I thought I tooth-combed it before I submitted it. So from me, it's a must and it won't take you long to put the Word references into EndNote.

V

Not using any reference management software would be as walking 30 miles instead of taking the bus. I didnt use it for Masters and deeply regreted later.

A

Definitely don't try to produce a thesis without a proper reference manager. The time taken to sort out your refs now will be well worth it.

P