Applying for PhD's, advice please

B

Hi Everyone,

Its my first time on this forum, im hoping to get abit of advice from all you prestigious PhD students.
Well, i graduated last year with a really good 2:1, i was actually only 2 marks off a first. I have been applying for science related PhD studentships everywhere since December and i am having absolutely no luck at all.
I really want to undertake a PhD but didnt realise it would be so disheartening.
I had an interview 3 weeks ago and although it was an informal interview and the superviser seemed really nice he said he had loads of other people to interview so i dont think i have a chance of getting that, as i do not have a masters maybe.
I dont know where im going wrong, can anyone possibly offer any advice please?

Z

Hi Becci, how much time did you invest in each application? In my case, I chose to apply only to a few labs, but spent a lot on time on each. I read a few papers by each group and then made subtle changes in my CV to highlight things that would make me an ideal candidate. When writing about my interests, I took care to mention why I got interested in their work (in my case, it was because of a distantly related undergrad project). Also, I read their webpage info carefully and included some of it (though obviously only the stuff I actually thought interesting, and without just copying what they had written).
All in all, I tried to come across as very enthusiastic about their research, knowing a little bit about it already, but also having some unrelated experience that (ideally) could add something to the group.
Oooh, this sounds a bit pretentious perhaps. What I mean is: Pick a group that you love and then let them know how much you love them...

S