Are my PhD dreams over?

M

======= Date Modified 07 07 2010 15:07:12 =======
I am 31 years old. I have a BSc in Molecular Biology and MSc in Forensic Science. After graduating I was head hunted and employed by a major Forensic DNA testing company in the UK, and during the 5 years that I worked there worked on many important cases such as the London Bombings and Asian Tsunami. However, as you can imagine, the pay was terrible and I ended up leaving my job for a better pay.

I am now employed as a Scientific Consultant for a Biotech company based in the US. I am their UK contact, and my role is to provide technical/product advise to life science researchers in the UK interested in the products that the company I work for creates. I often refered to as a sales rep, and I can understand why, but I am under no pressure to sell. I am employed as a UK point of contact for scientists interested in or using our products, and only a small part of my job involves selling. I am currently earning £31k with bonuses. I was very lucky to get the job, I applied and impressed them at the interview and they gave it to me!

One of my biggest regrets is that I never studied for a PhD. Its not that I did not want to, at the time I just could not find a project that interests me and then when I got the Forensics job I just put this dream on the back burner. Now, its become even more difficult since due to family commitments I can not quit this job to go back to being a student and earn around 16-20k - i have a bills ect to pay

I have enquired about part-time PhD options but there are no many supervisors who want to commit to someone for 6-8yrs for a lab based PhD. In addition, the personal costs would be insane and I can not afford it!