Argh! Two blue lines!

F

Two pregnancy tests, both positive. How did that happen? (only kidding!). I don't want to let it stop me completing my (P/T) masters or applying for a (humanities) Phd and funding etc. Am I being naive? I'm convinced I can write a dissertation while pregnant, and that I can start a Phd with a lit'lun of only a few months old. I'm convinced about this because although I'm incredibly happy about the news, I'm also scared out of my wits that I'll have to kiss goodbye to my dream career. I am determined not to let that happen, not when I've worked so hard. Anyone else facing or dealt with the baby/career conundrum? What happened? did you succeed? am I mad to believe I can do both? Inspiring stories also welcome!

A

Congratulations!!! I've no personal experience but I know of a few heroic women who have combined pregnancy/tiny children with PhD studies so it's possible.

C

I have a friend who had her first child during undergrad. She then went back to Uni and finished her degree (with a first) and got funding for a masters, which she completed (with a distinction). She then got funding for a PhD. She started the first year of her PhD but is now on maternity leave with baby number two, and plans to continue with PhD once maternity leave over. Her partner is also an academic, with funding for his PhD. Goodness knows how but they've both managed to keep going with their careers and children!

I'm female, about to embark on a PhD but with the knowledge that I also want to have children at one point in the future, so am also really interested to hear about how things fit in!!

F