ARGHH! Why do the apathetic ones have the best luck?!

E

Hey everyone, I just need to rant. I'm a self-funded part-time PhD student (part-time due to not getting funding). I met a fellow PhDer in my department today who was so unimpressed with everything. She told me, in a blatantly 'I'm so not bothered' sort of way that she decided to do the PhD because she didn't know what else to do, and casually applied for funding and got it. I was furious after talking to her! She doesn't care a monkeys about the PhD, and here I am, fighting like mad to be where I am (doing the PhD and working at the same time), and having to come through some rough hurdles to finally get here. Can anyone else relate to this feeling? It seems like the ones who aren't bothered seem to have the best luck (funding, securing lectureships, etc., etc.) [OK--rant over. Thanks for listening.]

J

Sometimes I think that the level of scrutiny that students and their work are subjected to varies widely, and that occasionally makes me feel like ranting. Some students get away with more than others, for sure.

R

Eddi,
I know its easier said than done, but I wouldnt worry about what other people are doing, it's of no consequence to your studies. Success in research has a lot more to do with blood, sweat and tears rather than intellence and natural ability.

Sure people who take on PhDs are smart, some of whom are really smart and may border on genius, but the majority of the people ive met in academia owe their success in their PhD and subsequent career as a result of their dedication and hard work more than anything else.

the person you describes is not likely to go very far in academia if they are showing no interest in what they are doing. wait and see

L