Australian Uni PhD, got conflicted reports and ordered to r&r

U

Hi, I am an international student doing PhD in Australia. I have submitted my thesis and got 2 (minor correction) and 4 (major revision n resubmit). The committee has determined that I need to resubmit my thesis to the 2nd examiner as his comments are significant and cannot be ignored. Essentially he said that my works is not new, and that there are works that are better than mine. he also concluded that he doesn't believe that revision would help much on overall thesis. However, he gave me a r&r instead of fail which is an option in the report (but I am not sure if he can fail me on the first submission). This is in opposite with the other report which only suggests few revision.

I am torn as if I decide to do r&r, it means I have to suffer another year (with tuition fee). The seriousness of his comment on the originality and contribution has sicken me as he is an expert in the field, however, it is subjective issue. The main problem is I didn't know how to fix it as I have a good relationship with my supervisor and she approve everyhing I did before submission. My thesis deals with conceptual thoughts, so it is subjective in nature. I can defend it, but I am not sure he will be convinced. It is highly likely that he would fail me. I am not sure why he would drag me to another year, and just said that revision won't help.

Need advice.

Also, I am not sure if supervisor can contact the examiner to get a more specific instruction, anyone knows?

T

I'm a bit confused. Are you saying you got an R&R, but you have the option of accepting it or not? What do you mean you can defend it? What does your supervisor say?

M

In the UK, your two examiners MUST agree on what action is to be taken.

I would seriously ask questions of the process behind your examination if you have such a broad difference. Did your examiners sign off the corrections as R+R? Questions to be asked here.

D

Quote From TreeofLife: