Authorship issue

N

Hi. I am a third year PhD student and I have been working in computational biology. I wrote a code to do some analysis and it took me almost one year to get everything working. Now there is a post doc in our lab who is using my code to do her stuff. I even helped her to set everything up (although this did not take long). She presented a poster and did not put my name on it. I felt bad as I thought it would be obvious to have my name there. And now I am worried that she would not include my name in her paper either. I talked to my supervisor about it but his response was even worse. He said did not know what was the rule for authorship. I know without my help this project had not been completed so soon so I feel cheated and not acknowledged. I am angry with my supervisor. Any suggestions?

T

I think we need more specifics here!

Your current argument is a little unclear, and seems to suggest that author of SPSS should be an author on every single paper that uses the software.

A

I'm in social science so I don't know how it works with coding software etc. Did you write a paper that outlines your new code (is that something that's done? I have no idea). Is coding intellectual property or is it more like a methodology (so up for grabs?)

In terms of authorship:

http://www.icmje.org/recommendations/browse/roles-and-responsibilities/defining-the-role-of-authors-and-contributors.html

Generally, to be an author you would need:

1) Substantial contributions to the conception or design of the work; or the acquisition, analysis, or interpretation of data for the work; AND
2) Drafting the work or revising it critically for important intellectual content; AND
3) Final approval of the version to be published; AND
4) Agreement to be accountable for all aspects of the work in ensuring that questions related to the accuracy or integrity of any part of the work are appropriately investigated and resolved.

N

Thanks Thesisfun and awsoci for the reply.