Bachelor in Psychology and a PhD in Genetics?

I

Hi everyone,
I'm starting the last year of my Psychology Degree in a couple of days. I recently discovered that I am much more drawn to Genetics than to Psychology. I was wondering if any of you would know whether I have any chances of getting a PhD in Genetics. As a Psychology student, i've done a bit of neurobiology and I have the basics in Genetics. I'll also take a module from the School of Biology this year. Should I apply for Masters in Genetics instead? Would that increase my chances of getting a PhD in Genetics afterwards? Has anybody of you done this transition - from Psychology to Genetics?

Thank you. I look forward to you sharing your thoughts/opinions/experience.

Yuliana

S

I've gone the other way, from genetics to psychology. My PhD is a combination of both and I did a masters in between - but that was in anthropology! You might be able to get a PhD place for a topic on psychological genetics - but not otherwise. If you want to leave psychology completely you will need a masters (unless you can self fund maybe).

K