Beginning the Application Process

O

Hi everyone. I'm beginning to think about applying for a 2010 PhD. I've found a lot of useful advice on this forum so far and hope someone can answer a few specific questions - hopefully I'll be able to pass it on when I start my studies!

The situation: I Graduated in 2008 with a first in maths. Since then I've been travelling and temping, basically doing nothing to do with maths (apart from tutoring high-school pupils part-time).

The Plan: I'd like to do a PhD in computational number theory (CNT) at Edinburgh University.

The Question: Basically, I'm a bit confused/nervous about contacting a potential supervisor. I've identified a guy who I think might be suitable, and now I'm just wondering what the next step should be. Since I'm not applying for a pre-set topic, how specific do I have to be? Can I email him saying "I want to study CNT and thought you might like to supervise me - how about it?" and then take it from there, or should I have a specific title/question in mind?

I guess the main problem I can't get my head around is: how much am I supposed to know about the field so far? Obviously a PhD is about solving something that hasn't been done before. But surely you have to know EVERYTHING before you can even find out where the holes are? All I know is I want to research CNT, think I'd be good at it and would love someone to suggest a specific place for me to start.

Thanks for taking the time to read through that rambling....any help is much appreciated.

PS - forgot about these other questions:
1) Is my aimless (at least maths-wise) time out likely to look bad to funding bodies?
2) What time of year do people generally have everything (place, funding etc) 'sorted'? My PhD will involve moving cities, buying a new house - will I have to sort all that out between June an September? (Also, I want to do some more travelling before the start, so the sooner it's all sorted, the better!)

J