Behind, confidence shot, ugh...

K

I'm about halfway through (theoretically...1.5 years...the money runs out after 3) an scientific PhD at Cambridge, and I'm just about reaching breaking point. I constantly seem to be under pressure, I never seem to finish work on time and it takes me a frickin' age to process data. I know other PhD students feel similarly but they do seem to be further along and working quicker than I am, and I don't see the pace picking up before I enter 3rd year. One guy who started at the same time on the same project to me has already dropped out and one girl in the year above has swerved her project away from the core overall strategy if you get what I mean. I've been writing a paper now for about 3-4 months and it only seems to get there slowly. Complicating matters is a holiday I booked months ago for just over 2 weeks, which has fallen at the worst possible time.

I had a viva on a first year report last October (that was handed in in April, but that's another story), which I passed barely. Looking back, it was fairly rubbish in fairness but the tone was out of order ("You've managed to convince people you're bright, this work is as a result of laziness or stupidity. I'll let you decide which"). I was passed but was kept on as probationary still, registered as an MSc student. I have to submit a 2nd year report or get a paper accepted/published in a journal (I need this clarified...) to be allowed to stay on with full PhD status.