Calling other PhD parents

A

Haven't posted for a while. Would love to hear from others who are juggling being a mum/dad (I have 3 children), whilst also working full-time on their PhD. Mine's funded, so am feeling under extra pressure.

D

In the department where I did my PhD many of the mums doing PhDs appeared to pass over parental responsibility to their parents and just focused on their PhDs for the most part.

A

Sadly not an option for me: my parents live over 100 miles away, and are in their mid 70's. In the euphoria of accepting a funded place, I overlooked the harsh reality of managing the logistics.

A

No real advice Artista except that you have to keep focussed and ensure that you keep all the plates spinning! I did my PhD full time with four children and also did quite a bit of additional work for my department throughout my three years. At the moment I'm working full time whilst prepping for my viva and only this morning was dreaming that maybe, just maybe next Christmas will be the first one in ages when I don't have to study, or even think about study...

It is tough no question about it but most PhD parents are expert project managers and get the job done despite or in spite of their other committments. It's always a bit full on at Christmas when everybody is around, including in-laws (sic), and you yearn for it all to get back to normal. No too long now :-)

There's lots of parents here on the forum and somehow we all seem to muddle through and get it done; you will too (up)

D

Quote From Artista:

Sadly not an option for me: my parents live over 100 miles away, and are in their mid 70's. In the euphoria of accepting a funded place, I overlooked the harsh reality of managing the logistics.