Can a conference fold if they have a low paper submission count?

T

I think the title says it all.

Also, would the number of paper (after submission to easyChair e.g. paper 10) indicates the number of papers that have been submitted?

I've been in the situation where that has happened. Shortly after I completed my PhD (which would have been a good time for me to present), my supervisors were organising the conference (to be held up in Newcastle) and due to location (it wasn't down south) it only attracted interest from a total of ~30 attendees including presenters. It may has well have been in Pyongyang in North Korea for the interest shown.

It was relocated to IOM3 in London so people didn't have to travel beyond London, but by then the damage was done and the conference was 'postponed' and never resurrected.

We'd put in a lot of work (including a paper from me for presentation and proceedings - colleagues similarly) so it was annoying when it finally folded. That said, when that happens, papers can easily be submitted to other conferences and thus the work does not necessarily go to waste.

Ian (Mackem_Beefy)

T

Quote From Mackem_Beefy:
I've been in the situation where that has happened. Shortly after I completed my PhD (which would have been a good time for me to present), my supervisors were organising the conference (to be held up in Newcastle) and due to location (it wasn't down south) it only attracted interest from a total of ~30 attendees including presenters. It may has well have been in Pyongyang in North Korea for the interest shown.

It was relocated to IOM3 in London so people didn't have to travel beyond London, but by then the damage was done and the conference was 'postponed' and never resurrected.