Can I please ask what you did within the first 6 months of your PhD? What did you achieve? Hours?etc

As a part time student, I would really like to know what you achieved within the first 6 months?

And as a full time student too please...?

M

The first year or so of my PhD I was just reading about my topic and thinking about my main hypothesis. You need to know what others have done and said in your specific field in other to know what remains to be done. Basically, your first year amounts to the 'literature review' of your thesis, where you explain the broader field to which your projects belong and the kind of questions that are pertinent.

T

I was really stressed because I had no clue what I was supposed to be doing for the first 3 months. Yeh, reading etc - but it felt a bit random. I was already familiar with my topic so if I could turn back the clock I would get myself out collecting data as soon as poss, instead reading bits and bobs and not really doing much.

It helped because my uni requires a 3-month literature report (just to check you have some understanding of the area, where your project could go, and that you can write in an academic way). That at least made me feel like I was doing something, although I got really stressed because it felt like something major, when actually in hindsight it was more of a tick-box activity.

So what I achieved - got my bearings a bit, got the 3 month report done, started the ethics application so that I could start to collect data for my first study (although some of my friends are still doing their first ethics application now - in their 2nd year - it depends on your project).

How are you getting on?

T

Ps. I was full time. And reading what I've written it sounds like I achieved quite a lot in the first 6 months. At the time it felt like I was doing nothing.

@Tudor_Queen – I really enjoyed reading your detailed response. Thanks very much!