Can't think straight :-(

Another negative thread from me - will there ever be a positive one?? My first conference paper is due in under two weeks and I just can't seem to get it together. I don't yet fully understand the process that I am supposed to be writing about and literature on it is few and far between as it's of an interdisciplinary nature and a relatively new area. So I'm trying to piece together information from two disciplines in which I have no background and my brain has been in panic mode for the last two weeks. It's ridiculous - I haven't been able to work because everytime I try, my stomach ends up in knots, my heart races and so I can't concentrate at all. I've been doing alot of exercise to try to keep the nerves at bay but unfortunately this isn't working. I don't think I'm cut out for this at all. I just want to get this over with but it shouldn't be such a big deal.

S

I felt exactly the same yesterday.  I just could not focus my thoughts, i felt like i had no structure; no clue about my field and no motivation. Endless stress.

I realised the cause of the problem for me was sitting at the SAME desk, in the SAME office, at the SAME time as the day before, drinking from the SAME coffee mug, looking at the SAME screen, working on the SAME word document, interacting with the SAME people (and so on...).  The SAMEiness was bunging up my thoughts.

Today, i broke up the routine a bit.  I spent the morning sitting outside on the grass brainstorming ideas with a pen and paper. I haven't worked like that in ages. 

Before i knew it, the ideas started to flow a bit better and i have 'direction' today. I'm still quite stressed today, the problems haven't magically disappeared overnight, but i feel a bit more like myself.  And despite the stress, that's a good feeling.

Perhaps you should try a change of scenery to help gather your thoughts?

Hope you get your mojo back soon :-)

K