Career in Industry or Academia?

S

I graduated a Film and TV BA in 2009 and in the first class. Right up until the end of my degree, I was sure that I wanted to take the academic career path, do a masters, a PhD and then lecture and write for the academy for the foreseeable future. I was really good at it and I enjoyed it.
Then right before I graduated I got offered an internship at 20th Century Fox for the Summer, I jumped at the chance, it would be a fun 2 months and it would be in LA. I went to LA and had an amazing time, got loads of contacts in the film industry in the UK and secured a job in London as an assistant editor making movie trailers.
I didn't really think too much about leaving academia behind, I decided to throw myself into the industry and told myself that I would come back to the academy after 10/15 years...I had an amazing opportunity here.

Now, it's been nearly a year and a half in my job and my boss tells me all the time that I'm a "superstar" and "the future of the company", but I'm really getting an itch to come back to seek out a career in academia already. I miss writing and thinking and reading (I spend about 13hours per day working at a computer screen on final cut pro) and whilst my work should be exciting...we make trailers for all the high profile movies...I just can't help feeling stilted.

Am I a thinker not a doer? Am I ungrateful for my great industry opportunity? Am I just nostalgic for those sacred undergrad years?

J

It maybe that you are experiencing nostaligia for an undergrad life which rarely repeats itself at post grad level - there is much less camaraderie (students generally have lives away from the uni) and much more focus on the academic aspects of uni life. Is there a way of doing a masters part time? You have managed to get a great opportunity getting into the movies and you may find that if you left it would be difficult to get back in.

C