Caught in an inactive cycle PLEASE HELP!

L

Hi all,
I'm having a really hard time recently, since the first portion of my second year sept/nov I was really productive and now I havent done anything in weeks. I feel there is no point, that I know nothing and that it is an impossible task. I can't seem to find any motivation and I'm worried about it all the time. Does anyone have any advice, please help I'd appreciate it!

D

Im afraid I dont have any advice but if it makes you feel any better Im feeling the same way. Sometimes think Im going great guns and then seem to spend weeks achieving absolutely nothing. Weve just gotta hang in there I guess!

B

Sorry you're feeling like that - I'm only in my first year but can totally relate. I've had moments of absolutely loving what I'm doing, but also times of feeling totally lost, that I'm way out of my depth and just can't bring myself to do any work at all! If it at all helps, when I can't motivate myself, I don't try to force it, I take some time off, do other things totally unrelated to work for a wee while and feel much better for it, refreshed and motivated. So maybe taking a litle break to distance yourself from it would help you to feel less overwhelmed?

L

Yeah I know, I think one of the main problems with a PhD is how lonely an experience it can be. Sometimes we watch our friends in their 'normal' jobs being paid more and having proper off time, where they aren't feeling guilty because they aren't working.I know my lack of self confidence is crippling me, yet I know when I'm motivated I feel much better in myself. Its such an odd experience.Its why forums like this are so wonderful, you think its just you...

L