Chances to get a PhD with these marks

B

Hi all!

I'm a MSc student of Ecology, doing my master's thesis abroad, and I was thinking to apply for a PhD but I have some questions. Which is the minimum grade you need to get a PhD and to get funds?

I have a 6,5/10 (it's like 2.2 in UK system I think) in my BSc and I'm going to achieve 8,5-9/10 in my Master. It's going to be difficult? Which are the odds? I'm looking for a PhD not only in UK, but specially in Germany (Although I'm open to other countries).

Another issue is, do you recommend me to apply for more than one PhD position at the same time? Of course, I'll talk with the research group where I'm right now, but just in case.

Thank you very much in advance :-)

S

hi borinot
Welcome to the forum! I'll try to answer your questions.
For a minimum grade for PhD, for some projects, an exceptional First Degree is sufficient. Because then you go through progression, get credit at MPhil level, and finish the PhD.
Some phds require a masters qualification.

It also depends on the type of phd and what skills/knowledge that is needed for that phd.

To get funds, you can look for scholarships or funding, again depending on the phd, which institution, which country etc.

Your question, what is going to be difficult? is it the odds for looking for a phd not only in UK but in Germany as well? if that is the question, no it is not difficult.

The PHD is out there waiting for you :-) If you sit around and wait for it to come, nothing will happen. Please do keep looking.

Yes, I recommend applying for more than one phd position, if you have time to sit and write your applications, please do so.

best of luck
love satchi

J

Hello,

I gained a 2:1 (a very low 2:1!!), which is the standard grade which is asked for in UK universities. Some require more "exceptional" marks though, depending on the university and the funders.