Changing Supervisors

G

Thought I would ask as I am still having problems with mine 1 year in. Have spoke to him several times - things get better for a bit and then he goes back to normal. So would like to know whether changing was a positive or negative experience and if it was easy to do. Also if you kept the same project.
Cheers

G

I've been having a similar problem, not with my supervisor but with a postdoc in the lab. I considered quitting but that would have been a waste of my talents. So, how would you go around changing supervisors if that is possible?

G

anon, what problems are you having with your supervisor?

G

Where to start? He treats me very differently to the others in the group and expects me to basically be his slave and do whatever he tells me to do. The others in the group are very much left to their own initiative and he doesnt interfere. Or nag them. I have a lot of experience in research and so the fact I am a first year is a little misleading in terms of my capabilities. I expected the PhD to be a two way discussion process rather than being expected to do what I am told.

I think that a year of this is really getting me down especially as I have spoke to him about it several times and things improve for a short while. He also never provides any positive feedback and my confidence is getting lower all the time. I am not planning to quit. I am planning to have another word with him and if things continue I will initiate proceedings to change. But I need to know if this is generally a positive or negative process. I appreciate it is the last resort and will use it as such. cheers