Communication

S

Hi all,

I'm doing my PhD at the mo and read these boards fairly often and something I have noticed is that the majority (though far from all) of the problems with supervisors seem to stem from a lack of communication. I think many of these problems could be sorted by "nipping them in the bud" early on. Perhaps people aren't confident enough to talk to their supervisor about problems early on (supervisors can be intimidating at times) but I really think that if people get past this early on and go and talk to their supervisors when problems first begin to arise then they may be better off.

Also, many posts feature the line "I've emailed loads but no reply". If it is urgent, go to your supervisors office a few times every day until you can speak to them. Things are a lot easier to resolve in person and supervisors are generally a bit older and don't like email. Plus they get about 100 emails a day and can easily miss them. Again, I realise that some people have factors preventing them doing this (living miles away from the uni for instance).

I don't mean to sound preachy and I certainly hope people continue using this board when they have a problem, I just thought I'd put this post out for people to see so that if they are experiencing the beginning of a problem they sort it early by going and speaking to their supervisor early on.

What does everyone else think? Is communication the main problem in your opinion?

B

I agree that A LOT of problems stem from poor communication between supervisors and students.

My supervisor and I openly admit that we are fairly bad at communication, but this was only after 6 months of not being able to obtain data in my first year (electrophysiology frustrations). Unfortunately, my relative inexperience in the field (and as a PhD student overall) meant that I didn't know how to get myself out of the situation of endless supervisory meetings, in which all that I could report was ''it's just not working''.