Conceptual framework - please help!!!

J

I'm doing my Masters dissertation at the moment and I really need some help! I'm aiming for a distinction as that is what all my other grades are and I'm applying to do my PhD. My supervisor said that to guarantee a distinction, using a conceptual framework would be the best way (obviously done well) but that so far I don't have one. I tried to get to the bottom of what this means and how I could improve my work but didn't really get anywhere.

Can anyone help me...what is a conceptual framework? How do I build that into my work?

I'm really nervous as I find out if I have an interview for my PhD soon and my supervisor said they might ask me about this in interview too but I don't have a clue!

Thanks in advance!

S

Hi Jennypenny!

It is good that you are aiming high for your Masters and it is definitely going to benefit you :) Conceptual framework varies across disciplines. For choosing Conceptual framework, I would say, after doing the initial web search (there is an ample amt of useful as well as confusing material on web) you need to read the PhD thesis or Master thesis closely related to your study. Searching past thread in this forum would also help you. Bear in mind that it is not an easy task to select the particular framework but it is very essential as it guides your whole research. Some approaches are stingy and goes well with only particular set of methods and therefore you need to be careful. However as it is for Masters thesis I would not go into too much detail. But if you are going to include particular framework then it is imperative to conceive the idea thoroughly. Some frameworks are the combination of various concepts. For example, in Sociology, if you are studying inequality - you would like to include Bourdieu's concept of Habitués, Marx's conflict theory as well as Freire''s banking concept.