Conference Panic!!!!!

T

Hey all,

I have been accepted to do a conference presentation in two weeks. Which is amazing!

I am a first year Phd student. I have had a pretty rough time of it since i started in September. I have had a bereavement plus two family accidents. I found it tough juggling the work and personal life but I pushed myself into my work and feel I've accomplished a lot.

So I sat down over a week ago to write the presentation and have completely lost my confidence. The conference is not specific to my area but is general to my field. I have looked at the other abstracts in my panel and they are relevant. Even better my abstract fits nicely between them.

My problem is I did the power point, then scraped it. Then started a written speech and although i felt this worked better, i still don't think it is good enough. Even worse i have now lost the idea i want to discuss. I was using my literature review and then adding my ideas.

My supervisor says to keep it exciting, don't over quote and don't use to much jargon but no matter what way I do it my ideas come across weak and boring.

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

This is my first conference and although I feel ok about speaking in public it is more the content that scares me.

I'm starting to freak out.

Thanks in advance.

Tigger

D

======= Date Modified 01 Apr 2012 16:06:44 =======
======= Date Modified 01 Apr 2012 16:05:17 =======
Hi Tigger,

That's great news about your conference presentation. It's good to start early and people are generally easy on PhD students especially 1st year ones so don't worry about that. You could just say that as an ice breaker before you start when you introduce yourself.

What format is your presentation - they usually specify what they want. Usually it's a 15-20 min PowerPoint presentation with 5 mins for questions.

I'd keep the format simple - intro/background, aims/objectives of study, methods, any results you have, future work.