Considering a PhD Helpppp Plz

K

Hi

I am new and in need of advice (sorry about the length BUT i need Help)

I am a recent graduate of 2013, lucky for me found a job fixing and calibrating medical equipment. i have been doing this for 8 months. hhhmm well this is the problem, because I find the work very dull and repetitive. I have looked at the job market and to be honest I am not very impressed.

To make a long story short, I enjoyed being at university (even doe when i was there i said i hated it) and learning new things and solving problems, I know for the future I want an easy life of, taking part in different projects and maybe helping students. I have completed a degree and achieved a first class in electronic and electrical engineering.

I am considering in 17 months (July 2015)to apply for a PhD in electronic engineering, I have seen two that interest me (for sept 2014) the 4 years EPSRC in communications or autonomous robotics.

I don't fully understand what a Phd entails but what i enjoy to do is ,solving problems, practically building projects and thinking, to prepare myself i am going to start teaching myself assembly language and c programming and do little projects at home. Even start my own youtube channel and website and share what i do.

I can not afford a Msc degree but willing to teach myself through projects i do at home.

SHOULD I BOTHER APPLYING FOR A PHD ?????(i am always up for a challenge )

WHAT ARE PhDS IN ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING LIKE ????

How do you improve your chances applying for a EPSRC PhD >??? what can I do???

I know what i want to do in next 5 -8 years .....I want a position were i help students learn about electronics and help them with their projects part time and also do consultancy work in my spare time as i plan to become very good at embedded C and design.......

I crave knowledge ....I want different projects every 6-7 months ......I want to be hands on and help problem solve