Could use some advice from those who know

R

I posted in another topic and my post got lost in the thread, so sorry to repeat for those who have read it before, but could really use some advice.

I'm just beginning second year of my PhD and having serious doubts as to whether it's the right thing for me. I love and hate my work, when things work it's brilliant but this is interspersed with months of nothing. The feeling of wasting months of work is so disheartening.

I'm engaged and want to buy a house, get married and eventually start a family, when i finsh my PhD I will be 27 and only just embarking on the career ladder, and from what I know not only do there not seem to be the jobs out there in industry I'll probably end up doing something I could of walked into at 21. I want a promising career and love my subject but I don't like the way my personal life seems to be on hold because of my PhD and the big fat question mark over whether it will actually make any difference to my career.

I just feel so frustrated. Ladies especially, am I the only one?!

V

rozza: I was reading your post and emphatised with you very deeply. For women combining a career and family is a big issue...especially in academia where you are expected to show 'potential' as early as possible to be promoted. I am in the same boat as you but I am even older, I ll be 35 when I finish my PhD and I even havent got a boyfriend anymore (he did not want to keep his life on the hold while I am finishing my PhD). But I want children very much.
Have you made any decisions yet? BTW, I think combining children with work is easier in academia where you do not have to be in office from 9-17 or longer. But before having them oe has to publish as much to possible to be able to get a good job.

M