De-motivated and uninterested

B

Hi guys,

I'm currently in my second year as a full time student and I'm starting to feel really de-motivated and uninterested in my PhD at the moment. I just feel as if I'm not really getting anywhere as I've not started data collection yet due to the UK lockdown. Is it normal to feel this way in your second year and feel like you shouldn't be doing a PhD?

I also feel like I'm never doing enough work and feel guilty about not wanting to do my PhD work at the moment. I've had a paper published (a brief review), written about 10,000 words of my literature review, and had ethics approved for my first two studies. To me, it doesn't seem like I have actually achieved much in the first 18 months of my PhD. Does this seem like a normal amount of work or should I be doing more?

Thank you

T

Hey there,

It's very normal. I think they call it second year blues or something.

It sounds like you're doing enough work. At that stage I didn't have an accepted publication from my PhD and hadn't written much apart from the first year continuation report and a draft paper for the first study (of my three planned studies).

Is your progress in line with your planned timetable for the 3 - 4 years?

Will there be more work you can do soon, or is there something else you can get involved in? Sometimes when things are a bit slow and boring it can be motivating to get really busy - it kind of gets you going I find (and then you usually regret taking so much on!).

Maybe take a break and come back more motivated?

B

Thank you for your reply, apologies for being so slow at replying.

My supervisor has just said that he doesn't feel I'm trying hard enough and that the PhD isn't my number one priority. I know I've not been doing as much over the last few months, but it's things like this that just make me question why I'm actually doing a PhD.