Depressed at the final hurdle

F

I am a 3rd year student currently writing up my thesis. I am also my supervisors 1st PhD student. When I first arrived, things were pretty good between us, too good perhaps. A year into my PhD however, I became the sole member of my group and this is when things started turning nasty. It kicked off with bitching behind my back with undergrads, but then progressed to shouting, constantly snapping, swearing, publicly humiliating me, threatening to kick me off my PhD for telling him I thought of self-harm after one of his episodes, avoiding me, ignoring me in public, telling me I deserve his treatment of me, threatening to blackmail me for accidently saying I didn't like the head of school (he's insulted many of his colleagues to me - he says he's allowed to because he sits on a panel), telling me to stay away from everyone as I was clearly a bad influence and also, he has resorted to fabricating what my other supervisors say about me, etc, etc. All this time I had done nothing but work hard, esp. as I am now aiming to submit by Oct/Nov, so near the 3 year mark. I was told in my 1st year review that I was in the top 10% (at this time he also asked me to be his post doc - I said no), and my work led to him getting a grant for a post doc to take over my work. Admittedly, much of this agro has been over a paper from my thesis which I have not been allowed to write. I accepted this but got upset when I found out that he intended to botch the contributions at my expense and hand 2nd authorship to an undergrad who had done pilot studies. I approached him and got a public shouting at and was told that it was his paper and not mine, and that I needed be priveledged that he was allowing me to be first author (he later denied this, claiming I was a liar).

F